It’s Not Goodbye, It’s See You Later

July 31, 2010 at 1:09 pm Leave a comment

When I was a little girl and would tell my Grandma Betty goodbye, she would always remind that it isn’t goodbye, it’s see you later. Every time goodbyes would come around this is what she would say. It has now been three years since my Grandma Betty died. And the thought still rings through my head, it is not goodbye, it’s see you later. At the time I don’t know if she realized the important lesson that she was teaching me. In this life, death is not goodbye, it is definitely see you later.

How do I know that it’s not goodbye, it’s see you later. I know this simply fact through several ways. Mainly through scriptures. As we read the scriptures they share with us what happens after death. Also through a living prophet, who share’s God’s Plan of Happiness with us.  I also know that this life is just a stopping point on our eternal journey and life doesn’t end after death.

What Happens after I die?

After we die, our spirits return to that Creator who gave us life(Alma 40:11). At this time, we are again spirits and reside in the Spirit World. This spirit world is divided into two parts. One is referred to as Spirit Paradise, where the spirits of the righteous shall go. Spirit Paradise is described as “a state of rest, a state of peace where they shall rest from all their troubles and from all care, and sorrow” (Alma 40:12).

The other part is referred to as Spirit Prison. This is a state for those who did not follow the Savior, intentionally or unintentionally. The wonderful part is that while there, they have the chance to learn about the Savior and have the opportunity to change and perhaps go to Spirit Paradise.

Resurrection, Judgement and Eternity

After the Savior’s second coming everyone will be resurrected to their perfect state (Alma 40:23). Meaning that our bodies and spirits will be reunited to never be separated again. We will then be judge. It is comforting to know that I will be judge by a perfect God, a God of mercy and of justice. After we are judge we will be placed where we will be the most comfortable.

I know that I will see my grandparents again. I will be able to develop a relationship with them, that wasn’t possible while they were on the earth.  I will be with my family again. All sickness and disease that plague us while we are here on earth will not exist.

To learn more visit Mormon.org

Entry filed under: God's Plan.

Life is a Game of Baseball “I Found Him”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Come what may, and love it." ~Joseph B. Wirthlin~
Order a book of mormon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


