Attitude of Gratitude

November 24, 2010 at 1:26 pm 1 comment

Recently, my companion and I were walking down the main road in the community in which we are serving. It was very cold and the wind was bitter. I had a lot to be thankful for, and instead, I complained about the wind. In that moment, I decided to stop whining and  to be grateful for the wind. With the help of my companion, we came up with a list of why we are grateful for the wind. Here are some of our reasons; it moves the clouds away, it is very important in weather, it provides energy via windmills, gets rid of stinky smells,etc.  Even though it was difficult, I was able to be grateful for the wind.

So very often we forget to express gratitude. No matter what situation life finds you, it is possible to have a grateful heart. It may not be easy, but it is possible.  Gratitude is developed over time and takes lots of practice. One way to develop gratitude is by praying. A modern-day prophet has said something to the effect that as we strive to express gratitude to our Heavenly Father, through prayer, we develop a grateful heart. He continued by saying, “This requires conscious effort—at least until we have truly learned and cultivated an attitude of gratitude”(Thomas S. Monson).

As we prepare for Thanksgiving, I would like to express my gratitude for a multitude of blessings in my life. Some may seem strange but are truly gifts. I am thankful for modern convenience. I have no idea how I would live without electricity and indoor plumbing. There is a reason why I live in the twentieth century. I am grateful for people. Foremost, my parents, then all the amazing people who have touched my life, those here in Western New York and elsewhere. I am grateful for a companion who helps find the blessings in whatever situation we are placed.

Most of all, I am grateful to my Father in Heaven. For his amazing love that he has for each of us and especially me. I am grateful that he loved us enough to send his Son, Jesus Christ, to this earth. I am grateful for my Savior, who made it possible for us to return to our Father in Heaven again. I am grateful for this time that he is allowing me to serve him, in what little way that I can.

To learn more about gratitude visit Mormon.org

Learn what a modern-day prophet says on gratitude.

Entry filed under: Faith, Hope, Prophet.

Three Times Daughter of a King

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Steven Watts  |  November 24, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    The wind will be stilled in our lives as we return thanks in all things and acknowledge the Lord in all things. Give thanks this Thanksgiving day for a His blessings.
    Elder Watts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Come what may, and love it." ~Joseph B. Wirthlin~
Order a book of mormon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


