Lessons Learned

August 2, 2011 at 5:41 pm 2 comments

I have been home from my mission for about 3 months. In those three months I have had some interesting things. First I had to get used to the fact that I wasn’t a missionary anymore. Next I had to venture into the real world of going out and finding a job. Along the way there were a few things that I thought I knew, but once again had to get a crash course in remembering them.

First thing I learned, again, is to trust the Lord completely. On my mission I had mastered this, but somehow forgot it. As I have been striving to find a job, I have once again realized how completely helpless I am without His divine help. No, I haven’t found a job yet. But I am once again trusting the Lord.

The second thing I had to learn again was to have hope. In can be really depressing to see how big of a mess this world is in, when you have been protected from it for 18 months. With hope and faith I can see beyond the mess. I may not be able to fix the world, but I can have optimism and make sure my life is not a mess. I can also have hope that all will work, because my trust in not based on the decisions of men, but on the knowledge that God has a plan for me.

Finally, I have learned to laugh at whatever comes. There is so much that I cannot control. At times I have let that frustrate me and drive me crazy. I laugh at the craziness of life because otherwise the stress would kill me. I try to not let the little things bug me. I don’t always succeed. There is so much good in this life that I can’t let the negative block my view.

I learned many lessons on my mission. Sometimes I learned them the hard way. I thought I had them down pat. But I was wrong. Some lessons are life-learned lessons and I will be spending the rest of my life learning them.

Entry filed under: God's Plan, Hope.

Last Words of a Mormon Missionary Everyday Miracles

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deb  |  August 5, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Sister Kissell, oops, Amanda! We miss you! Its good to see you posting on your blog again…sounds like life post-mission is a little challenging. You know what though, we are so sure that you will be just fine! You are such a remarkable person and served with such vigor and devotion, that no doubt you will be blessed as you go forth and carve out your life after missionary service. Trusting in the Lord is the best way to do things as you know. One of my most favorite scriptures: I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me. Phillipians 4:13.

    Reply
  • 2. Brother and Sister Watts  |  August 3, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Adjusting to life without the umbrella of missionary service blessing you is rough, but I know you will be blessed as you seek the Kingdom first. We miss you and hope you find a job soon, and find comfort in knowing you served a very honorable mission! Stay in touch. We are on our way home visiting church history sites.
    Brother and Sister Watts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Come what may, and love it." ~Joseph B. Wirthlin~
Order a book of mormon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


