How Great Thou Art

February 29, 2012 at 7:33 pm 1 comment

The other day I woke up to fluffy white stuff falling from the sky. I have been unusually blessed this winter by having this stuff be in rare supply. Amid groans and complaints I went throughout my day. Then I had the opportunity to sing the well-known hymn “How Great Thou Art”. This beautiful hymn reminded me of all the blessings a loving Father has given me.

It isn’t the snow that is awful, it’s the results that are. There is nothing that can compare to the beauty of freshly fallen snow. Or seeing the mountains that surround me dressed in the winter finest. Or the way it covers up all the rough edges and softens it to a picturesque scene. So often I take for granted the beauty of this world and complain about the one thing that isn’t pleasant.

When I stop and take a look around me, I realize how beautiful this earth is. Then I realize that the Great Creator made this for us. What is even greater is that he sent His Beloved Son to this earth, to suffer and die, so that I can return to live with Him someday. This alone cause my soul to sing, “How Great Thou Art.”

Entry filed under: Atonement, Faith, God's Plan, Hope.

No Time Beggars Can’t Be Choosers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. rcottrill  |  April 5, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. I appreciated your comments. They caught my eye today as I posted an article on this great hymn yesterday. (Check out how the verse “When Christ shall come…” came to be written. I don’t think many know the story behind it.) God bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Come what may, and love it." ~Joseph B. Wirthlin~
Order a book of mormon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


