Musings from a Doughnut Lady

August 27, 2014 at 5:47 pm Leave a comment

doughnutsI am a bakery clerk. One of my many tasks is that of frosting doughnuts, in other words, I’m a doughnut lady. I had an experience today that I have experienced many times. A customer will come up to the counter on their cell phones, fully expecting me to help them while they continue with their conversation. They make their selection with hand gestures and glare at me if I don’t know exactly what they want. All they are thinking about is what donut they want. And all I want is some common courtesy.opening door
What is common courtesy and why is it missing in our society today? According to Merriam Webster dictionary courtesy is a polite behavior that shows respect for other people. Is it too much to ask to get off the phone when someone is trying to get you the donuts you want. Apparently it is. So my plea today is to try to follow the golden rule, treat others as you would like to be treated. Look into my face and talk to me, not hush me because the person on the other end of the phone is more important. Realize that I am a person and have cares and concerns as well.

My experience today ended on a positive note. The customer who was so rude and would not speak to me, came back, and apologized for being on his phone. So I was proved wrong. Common courtesy is still on the earth and we can find it if we extend it ourselves.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Beggars Can’t Be Choosers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"Come what may, and love it." ~Joseph B. Wirthlin~
Order a book of mormon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


